South Shields… From obscurity to European champions?

edwards9

Reaction score
South Shields… From obscurity to European champions?

Seeing my hometown club rooted bottom of the Northern League division one is not a good sight but… it did give me this idea. I have never done such a challenge before, despite being a massive fan of the championship manager and FM series. I have done the usual thing in getting my team Newcastle United dominating European football for years on end but now I think its time to get my hometown club back to the ‘glory days’(i use that term very loosely), which, if yous are interested and think its decent enough I will continue share it with you guys. Just please bare in mind I havnt done anything like this before!!

Before i begin......Here are a few facts about the club….

Name: South Shields FC
Nickname: The Mariners
Fascinating Fact: The biggest recorded home crowd was in 1926 when 24,348 turned out for an FA Cup quarter final with Swansea Town, and the Welsh underdogs from Division Three (South) spoiled the party.
League: NORTHERN LEAGUE DIVISION ONE.

History… South Shields Football Club History Page 2

Twitter - Shaunedwards9

The Journey Begins….

2) First day in the job…..

After ending my Sunday league footballer career early at the age of 27 to pursue a managerial role, I was greeted by the chairman Gary Crutwell at the gates of Filtrona Park, we had a good chat about the job. I was introduced to my assistant manager, that had stayed from the old regime, although we got on well, I will be bringing my own assistant in. So I told him he can leave with immediate effect.
The staff that were there wernt up to scratch so I let them go also.