Trouble knowing the difference between a good and key player

jessefm

Reaction score
I'm currently on a 5year save and managing KV Kortrijk, Belgian top division mid table team. But this problem I have has been going on ever since I started playing FM (on and off every year). I never really got into a save on fm, but this year I have a little more time and this is probably the longest save I ever had... But the problem is that I never really had to buy players to strengthen the squad. So now I find it really hard to know what players will give my team that something extra, which players are just good to have, and which I just shouldn't buy. I mostly rely on my scojts and such vut when i think its a decent player my scojts say otherwise... I'm in the transfer period right now, and really strugling to determine what players are good to buy for my team...

There is no easy answer to this because it depends on what you are trying to do. Buying fairly developed players who won't necessarily improve much versus younger players with potential makes a difference.

Your scouts can only tell you so much. They can give you background information that simply looking at the player won't - scouting reports hint at things like injury proneness, consistency, and adaptability. They can compare the player to a current player and give you an idea of who is better. They can let you know if the player is likely to develop. But they can't tell you how the player would fit into your current tactical vision, let alone what you want to evolve it into. So relying on the scouts entirely is basically giving away one of your roles as a manager.