Welcome!

FM Base has been serving the Football Manager community for nearly two decades and we're keen to ensure that we are here for two decades more.

Become a part of our community today, and you'll quickly realise that the Football Manager community is the best community.

Register
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
1,975
Reaction score
43
Points
48
hi everyone

I just switched to windows 7 from vista (which I truly despised) and while everything else seems OK (or at least better than vista), Football Manager is actually running worse than before.

The game is generally slower (loading & progressing), and scrolling/animations during matches look less fluid. The strange thing is that computer performances are rated higher than before (FM now gives me 3,5 stars while I had 2,5 when using vista)

I think I did my homework downloading the latest system updates, doing the anti-virus check, re-installing my 3D card (nvidia g-force) and downloading latest drivers and directX.

I don't play other games out of FM so I can't make comparisons, but as I said before the other features seem to work fine and definitely better than vista (desktop loads faster, internet runs smoother).

Am I forgetting something vital and/or doing some noobish mistake or windows 7 is the plague???

thanks
 
YNWA.
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
14,836
Reaction score
0
Points
0
ive got vista and FM works fine... you seem to be ding everything so im guessing its just windows 7... try download a program called c-cleaner off a site called file hippo.... just run the cleaner and it removes all ****... will quicken your comp :)
 

Jak

Member
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
6,655
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Can't blame windows 7 for it not working. Is it just FM that is slower or are other games slower as well?
 
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
1,975
Reaction score
43
Points
48
ive got vista and FM works fine... you seem to be ding everything so im guessing its just windows 7... try download a program called c-cleaner off a site called file hippo.... just run the cleaner and it removes all ****... will quicken your comp :)
Thanks for the quick reply!

I've downloaded and run ccleaner and while it looks like a very useful program it doesn't seem to help solving my problem.

Scrolling issues bother me the most, nothing unbearable but I was used to a super quick/fluid match experience and now it's just painful to watch.

I can't think of anything to fix that.

---------- Post added at 03:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:46 AM ----------

Can't blame windows 7 for it not working. Is it just FM that is slower or are other games slower as well?
I have now tried NBA 2K11 with all that demanding graphics and animations and it works perfectly, very fluid and smooth (like it did on vista). Too bad I never play it, I only play FM...

I like this windows 7 better than vista for a number of reasons, but FM is running much worse and I can't really understand why.

Maybe I should stop wondering and just go back to the good old 2D sliders!? I would, but why then I have Michael Jordan doing his stuff in that perfect 3D? uhmmmmm
 
Member
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
450
Reaction score
0
Points
16
You could try turning windows aero theme off in personization in control panel and using basic,playing in full screen mode may help instead of windowed,also other people use a program called game booster i think which can help speed things up
 
Destroyer Of Ego's
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
821
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Running on Windows 7 here and no different to when I was on Vista before, runs like lightning.
 
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
1,975
Reaction score
43
Points
48
You could try turning windows aero theme off in personization in control panel and using basic,playing in full screen mode may help instead of windowed,also other people use a program called game booster i think which can help speed things up
thank you for the reply.

I had already changed theme (I like using very simple ones) and I usually play full-screen so unfortunately it must be something else.

I've tried gamebooster (only the free version) but didn't seem to help either, you think it's worth getting the premium version? keep in mind that I checked NBA 2K11 (very demanding game) and worked great even on windows 7.

---------- Post added at 06:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:02 PM ----------

Running on Windows 7 here and no different to when I was on Vista before, runs like lightning.
Yep that's what it's supposed to be!

It's the same cpu with same ram and 3D card, and the other game I tried (NBA 2K11) works fine as it did on vista.

The only thing I've done different is applying patch 11.2 straight away without going through 11.1 (which seemed pointless to me) now I think there's no way that's the problem, but maybe it is???

on sigames site it says new patches can be applied even without having previous ones.
 
Destroyer Of Ego's
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
821
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I wouldn't have thought that would be a problem, as you say, SI just advise to go straight to the next patch as it includes all of the original fixes anyway. Very strange.
 
Member
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
450
Reaction score
0
Points
16
no i wouldnt go premium if the trial didnt work would be a waste of time, i use windows 7 and find loading,processing no problems and very smooth and quick,when watching matches it very smooth also just when i try and move a match day info box ie: players morale its sort of juddery but other than that no problems at all, im running 3.0ghz dual core with 4gb ram and a not so up to date 8500gt nvidia 512mb graphics card.
not sure what your problem could be,are you trying to run too many leagues or have a massive data base or something?

wouldnt worry about the patch it wont be that
 

nlx

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
16
What you could try, maybe it works....

When you right click on the icon of FM11 on your screen, you can select properties. When that menu opens you can select Compatibility. When you select XP SP2 or Vista from that drop down menu and try to run. Does it run smoother?

You can also go to www.systemrequirementslab.com and select Football Manager 2011 from the list, run the test and see where your system is scoring low and then post the result here? It might be your 3d card all the way. In that case you should put on low 3d settings in the game menu.

Dont worry about the low stars in your game. I pass everything as well but the 3d star score in the game is also 2 or something while the game runs smooth.

 
Last edited:
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
112
Reaction score
0
Points
0
i have windows 7 on my comp and it to me runs fm2011 better then vista did, lots of problems with vista i found, but maybe it could be that ur computer is running to many leagues or you are putting too many players into the game?

mine went slow and took weeks to finish 1 season when i had multiple leagues and nations loaded so i decided to just do 20 something leagues with a custom database of just the players i knew id wana buy, but i didnt load all of europe like usual or all of scandinavia etc.

it goes quite fast and the games are fast too.

just try to change something like that and probably will run like lightning.

everyone has a different game setting that they play and different leagues etc, just try lessening up the players u load into the game and i think it will prob be fine. :)
 
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
1,975
Reaction score
43
Points
48
thanks everybody, unfortunately database/leagues/players don't seem to be the problem. I tried old saves (which worked fine on vista) as well as new games with only one league and small database and it's the same.

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:50 PM ----------

What you could try, maybe it works....

When you right click on the icon of FM11 on your screen, you can select properties. When that menu opens you can select Compatibility. When you select XP SP2 or Vista from that drop down menu and try to run. Does it run smoother?

You can also go to www.systemrequirementslab.com and select Football Manager 2011 from the list, run the test and see where your system is scoring low and then post the result here? It might be your 3d card all the way. In that case you should put on low 3d settings in the game menu.

Dont worry about the low stars in your game. I pass everything as well but the 3d star score in the game is also 2 or something while the game runs smooth.
Well thank you very much for the advice!

I've tried the compatibility thing and while selecting XP wouldn't even start the game, it actually seems to go smoother when I select Vista, especially the scrolling during matches. Well I guess I'll stick with that for now!

I've also done the systemrequirements test and everything seems OK, ram, card, cpu etc so the compatibility trick seems the best solution right now! But why!?

Thanks again!
 
Last edited:

nlx

Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I'm glad to hear the Compatible With option worked. I read you tried the System Requirements and all passed. To get a better result you might try this as well to find the problem. Might be more detailed or give another result. It will give you a series of tests and will benchmark your PC's separate parts oppose to other PC's. You will see tests like this passing by:










As you can see i get low 3D score too, but mine runs fine,. Can you post a screen shot of your test? Wonder if your bar is shorter than mine. Otherwise we need to check what is going on on the background of your pc, or change settings. Anyway, glad you run it a lil smoother now :)


You can download that PC Performance test here (30 day free trial):

For 32 bit http://www.passmark.com/ftp/petst.exe

For 64 bit http://www.passmark.com/ftp/petst_x64.exe
 
Last edited:
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2010
Messages
1,975
Reaction score
43
Points
48
I'm glad to hear the Compatible With option worked. I read you tried the System Requirements and all passed. To get a better result you might try this as well to find the problem. Might be more detailed or give another result. It will give you a series of tests and will benchmark your PC's separate parts oppose to other PC's. You will see tests like this passing by:

As you can see i get low 3D score too, but mine runs fine,. Can you post a screen shot of your test? Wonder if your bar is shorter than mine. Otherwise we need to check what is going on on the background of your pc, or change settings. Anyway, glad you run it a lil smoother now :)
Thank you so much for taking time helping me! The vista compatibility trick is the best option for me so far.

I've just run those testings and I can proudly say my 3D bar looks longer than yours hahaha! here are all the results, maybe you can spot something suspect?

View attachment 122338
 
Last edited:

Jak

Member
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
6,655
Reaction score
0
Points
0
You could always try reinstalling :)
 
Top