We will bury you - Zenit takes over football

Perun

Reaction score
First of all, a quick foreword:

This is my very first post in this forum. I'm fairly new to FM, having played FM12 as my first game. But with over 4000 hours since then, I believe I have amassed quite a fair amount of experience. I was looking a place to talk with fellow addi--I mean fellow gamers, so I had the brilliant idea to share my new save with you guys, since it represents the majority of what I do in FM saves. If you like it, I'd love to become a regular member of the forum.

Anyway, onwards:

View attachment 472611

The idea behind what I'm doing is that I was sitting around, wanting to do a home-grown CL/WC win save, but I couldn't be bothered with the 15 years of building a youth setup before it can get rolling along. Then again, I also don't want a top team that already has a built youth setup and I really couldn't choose a nation. So I did what I always do when I want to play but can't decide on a save - I started a 1 year CL challenge. It's what it sounds, take a club that qualified for the CL in the first season and win it within the first season. Checking out the clubs, I stumbled onto something very interesting -

FC Zenit Saint Petersburg.

Qualified in the Champions League, a big club, yet practically no youth setup. Tons of money, but an aging squad on huge wages that can barely be paid. Decent youth ratings in Russia, so I thought why the **** not give it a shot? They also seemed fairly average, so it would be a challenge to do the CL in the first season and if I didn't make it, I might as well continue for a home-grown CL/WC win.

Also I've always kind of liked Zenit, even if one of my least favorite players plays there - Hulk. I think it was cowardly of him to go to the easier Russian league rather than the bigger central European ones...but that's irrelevant. What's relevant is that as you'll see, he's a pretty central figure to the whole plot.