When Merseyside Turned Red Again-A Liverpool Football Club Story

Legendismessi

Reaction score
When Merseyside Turned Red Again

A Liverpool FC Story

When Kenny Dalglish took over at Liverpool midway through the season that just went, everybody thought that the good times were back at Anfield. And so it proved. What looked like a relegation battle under Roy Hodgson soon turned into a just-missed-a-Europa-League-spot campaign for the club. So, it was naturally disappointing for everyone as a fan when news trickled in from Anfield that the King was ill.

By the way, I was not just a fan. I was a professional football manager too. And my CV was pretty good to be honest. I started out my playing career at Huddersfield before plying my trade with many clubs in England-Everton, Bolton Wanderers, Liverpool, Southampton and Newcastle United-though not exactly in that order. I had even made four appearances for my nation too-all of them in friendlies though. After a good playing career of twenty years, I decided to enter management. I started out as a coach at Celtic and Lyon for four years each before making my way into the managerial folds beginning with Real Sociedad. After three years at Sociedad, I moved to Kaiserslautern. And soon, I added names like Manchester City, Glasgow Rangers, West Ham United, Valencia, Bayern Munich and finally, Wolfsburg-the club I last managed and resigned from on a high after winning the Bundesliga title with them-in a career lasting twenty two years.

By the way, I've told you so much without having introduced myself. I am Greg Halliway, a former England international born in Leeds. Coming back to the present, like I said, everyone was disappointed when Kenny fell ill. And the disappointment soon turned into despair when the King finally said good-bye to the club as a manager in order to spend time recovering.