Young Players Development (Loan or not ?)

joefrizz

Reaction score
as a southampton manager I have some promising young hot prospect in the squad, which is better for their development, to loan them out to lower league clubs for first team experience or just let them train in the club ? I have good coaches overall with training score between 4/4.5/5 stars in every category, and some of them have high attribute on working with youngsters

If you can give them 1st team time, at least 20+ games, then keep them with the big club.

Otherwise it's better to loan them out so they get regular playing time.
If you can loan them out as key/first team players to other teams with very good or better training facilities then that is ideal.
I'd also put a can be recalled clause in there in case they either are not getting enough playing time or get seriously injured.

If you can give them 1st team time, at least 20+ games, then keep them with the big club.

If you can loan them out as key/first team players to other teams with very good or better training facilities then that is ideal.
I'd also put a can be recalled clause in there in case they either are not getting enough playing time or get seriously injured.

If the player is playing bad on loan does that matter or is it all about first team football?

keep them in the big club? you mean keep them in my team? because my club is definitely bigger than the clubs proposing to loan them

is it have to be a starting position or just cameo in the last 20-15 minutes will do to give them the first team experience ?
the problem is even though they got high PA their mental attributes are so meager, so I'm worry to give them a run in the team

Last edited:
i personally bring all my hot prospects (the ones who i think can progress into starting XI) in to my senior squad and make them available for u18s/u21s as well as having a senior member of my squad tutoring them.