melia24

Reaction score
Hello all

I have been playing Football Manager for a couple of years now developing my own decent formation and tactics as such, but I don't seem to develop enough youth.

In Football Manager 2012 I generally start the game with a Premier League club and work my way up with the youth system. I downloaded a training schedule from MiNiMaL Fuss and tend to opt to buy a few hot prospects per season as that's what I am hoping to do successfully so I'm not wasting money and getting into debt.

The problem is that a player with decent stats doesn't seem to develop the way I hoped. I don't know enough about the training or developing youth to become a master at it, although I have read some very in depth articles about it, but still don't really understand some parts of it. I'm not a 24 hour Football Manager fan so that's to be expected. I would just like to know how I develop youth players correctly.

I have players that can become quality players going off the coach reports and checking the stats for the position they are in, yet they don't tend to improve. I do individual focus, put them on the downloaded training schedule and I do offer them a tutor but I don't see any dramatic improvements. I try to loan them out but nobody wants them so I have to play them occasionally in the first team, but I don't want to rush 17 year olds into the first team as I heard injury setbacks could take their toll on the players.

I just don't know what to do :/. They don't improve whatever I seem to do. If you look at the list of youth from an all clubs perspective they seem to get their stats upto 20, and that player then becomes world-class, a quality player or a good player. If I work on their technical stats by individual training focus how can I get their mental attributes up? Saying that the technical stats don't always have a good knock on effect either. So is there any advice you can give me directly? As reading reports just don't seem to work for me.