Barnsley: 40% attendance and sod all funds. Premier League? :D

Allegrif

Reaction score
Hey, so this is my first attempt on FM 2012... I'm hoping it goes as well as '11 did. I've never written an FM story before, so I'll probably suck. Never mind :p

I only decided to write this 5 or 6 games in to the season, so there's a tiny bit of backtracking.

So, I've picked my hometown of Barnsley. Capacity at Oakwell is 23,187 - average attendance is about 10,500. There's 250k in the transfer pot and nothing to spend on extra wages. Media prediction is 22nd. Looks like I'm in for a bumpy ride.
Realistically there's not much chance of a promotion this season, so I'll be aiming for a top half finish. Here is how I started:

1. Miles Addison loan terminated. Good player, but 9k/week? Don't think so.
2. Danny Drinkwater loan terminated. Again, need the money.
3. All available funds swapped to wage budget.
4. 38 year-old Marco Materazzi in. Free transfer (DC). Old, but a right brute - hoping for minimal injury problems.
5. Stephen Jordan in. Free transfer (DL). Much better than the likes of McNulty and Potter.
6. Kevin Etuhu in. Free transfer (AML). Struggling for pacey/decent wingers. Etuhu will rotate with Done.
7. Stephen Loboué in. Free transfer (GK). Sorry Steele, but he's just better than you :'(

I'll be using the excellent pace of Danny Haynes to break, with Matty Done or Keven Etuhu holding the ball up. Haynes' high work rate means he turns up to defend regularly, so holding the ball up is important.

View attachment 218338

So without further ado, here're my tactics:
View attachment 218325
Time to get going! :D