Road to Success - A Marco Verratti Story

CalumE5

Luis Suarez!
Reaction score
OK everyone, this is my first attempt at a story, so please don’t be too critical if you don’t like it, and please leave any criticism in the form of a comment. Most importantly though, enjoy the story and don’t forget to comment! So here goes...

Road to Success - A Marco Verratti Story

I ran through the middle of the pitch with the ball not venturing more than a metre away from my feet. I took it past one player, two players, and I kept going until it was just me and the goalie. I kept running, leaned left, taking the goalie with me, until I tapped the ball with the outside of my right boot, allowing me to easily pass the keeper, and slot the ball coolly into the back of the net. I ran over to the corner flag and stopped in front of the fans, who roared their appreciation. Before long, I had the arms of 9 teammates wrapped around me, uttering congratulations in my ears. But today, it was not them or the fans that I was trying to impress. Or even the manager. Today, I was looking to impress the man in the 3rd row of the east stand, a scout from England, who represented a club from the second tier of English football. The club was Cardiff City.