Welcome!

FM Base has been serving the Football Manager community for nearly two decades and we're keen to ensure that we are here for two decades more.

Become a part of our community today, and you'll quickly realise that the Football Manager community is the best community.

Register

What will I lose if I delete the 'Settings' folder?

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
3,472
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I keep getting XML error's, so I need to delete the settings data. This has happened to me quite a few times, but I can't remember what I lost. Will all my save data be safe, along with things like skins, custom tactics, shortlists, etc.?

Thanks in advance! :)
 
Super Duper Moderator
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
7,740
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Well no, they are not in settings folder. I have no idea what will happen if you delete your settings folder but I can't imagine it will be very good.
 
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
3,472
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Well no, they are not in settings folder. I have no idea what will happen if you delete your settings folder but I can't imagine it will be very good.
I know, but on one of the websites I saw which told you to delete the settings folder, it said you may lose saved data. I just wanted to confirm with someone who has done it before wether I will :)
 
Super Duper Moderator
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
7,740
Reaction score
0
Points
36
I know, but on one of the websites I saw which told you to delete the settings folder, it said you may lose saved data. I just wanted to confirm with someone who has done it before wether I will :)
I can't imagine you would but, to be sure you can always back-up your saves and stuff in another folder/ on a USB stick.
 
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
3,472
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I can't imagine you would but, to be sure you can always back-up your saves and stuff in another folder/ on a USB stick.
Says it's going to take over an hour to copy everything I want to make sure to keep :S

Ay well, time for a long wait I guess haha. Cheers anyway :)
 
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
3,472
Reaction score
0
Points
0
For future reference for anybody that has the same problem;

It doesn't delete any of your saves, but it does delete all your tactics, skins, all other graphics you have downloaded, etc. (Basically it resets everything exept your save files!)
 
Top